Join a Club

Ready to start your Special Olympics New Zealand journey?

Here’s where you can find the contact details about your local club, what sports are currently available and the regional sports co-ordinators for each region.

​To join a club or find out more: email or phone your local club. You’ll find their contact details below.

​You are welcome to join as an athlete, volunteer or coach.

​With clubs all over New Zealand, we’re here to ensure everyone with an intellectual disability has a chance to get fit, meet lots of people and have heaps of fun!

Find your local club on the map below or click on the links below to view clubs within your region:

North Island Clubs

South Island Clubs


North Island Clubs

Upper North Island Clubs

Regional Sports Coordinators (RSCs)

Helen Ferguson
Phone: 027 231 4351
Email: helenf@specialolympics.org.nz

Scott Vaughan
Phone: 027 505 4673
Email: scottv@specialolympics.org.nz

Niall Thompson
Phone: 027 567 9495
Emailniallt@specialolympics.org.nz

Auckland

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bocce, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Golf, Indoor bowls, Snowsports, Swimming 
Contact: Mike Ringrose
Email: auckland@specialolympics.org.nz
Phone: 021 531 271
Facebook: Special Olympics Auckland

Bay of Islands 

Sports: Swimming, Equestrian 
Contact: Nicole Grimme
Email: bayofislands@specialolympics.org.nz
Phone: 021 151 1105

​Counties 

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Indoor bowls, Powerlifting, Snowsports, Swimming, Table Tennis 
Contact: Rowena Massey
Email: rowmassey7@gmail.com
Phone: 021 921 902
Facebook group: Special Olympics Counties NZ

Greenhithe 

Sports: Basketball, Football 
Contact: Jacqueline Adams
Email: greenhithe@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics Greenhithe

Hibiscus Coast 

Sports: Swimming 
Contact: Lorraine Skelton
Email: hcsolorraine@gmail.com
Phone: 027 230 8808
Facebook: Special Olympics Hibiscus Coast

Howick-Pakuranga

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Indoor bowls, Powerlifting, Snowsports, Swimming, Table tennis 
Contact: Laurinne Laing
Email: howick-pakuranga@specialolympics.org.nz
Phone: 021 150 1034
Facebook: Special Olympics Howick-Pakuranga

Māngere 

Sports: Athletics, Bowling (tenpin), Bocce, Basketball
Contact: Maria Lee
Email: anamarialee@gmail.com
Phone: 021 266 1317 

Manukau

Sports: Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Golf, Swimming 
Contact: Annette Thorn
Email: manukau@specialolympics.org.nz
Phone: 021 174 9286
Facebook: Special Olympics Manukau

North Harbour 

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Football, Golf, Indoor Bowls, Snowsports, Swimming 
Contact: Carolyn Pape
Email: northharbour@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics North Harbour

Papakura

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Swimming  
Contact: Karen Smith
Email: papakura@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics Papakura

Tamaki

Sports: Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Snowsports, Swimming, Table tennis 
Contact: Mark Borkin
Email: tamaki@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics Tamaki

Waitakere

Sports: Athletics, Bowling (tenpin), Basketball , Football (soccer), Golf, Swimming 
Contact: Paul Misselbrook
Email: waitakere@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics Waitakere

Whāngarei 

Sports: Athletics, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Indoor bowls, Swimming 
Contact: Martin Barrie
Email: martinbarrie10@gmail.com
Phone: 021 118 2422 
Facebook: Special Olympics Whangarei

Central North Island Clubs

Regional Sports Coordinator (RSC)

Alan McDonald
Email: CNIRSC@specialolympics.org.nz
Phone: 027 443 6228

Rotorua

Sports: Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Indoor bowls, Swimming, Bocce
Contact: Stella McLeod
Email: rotorua@specialolympics.org.nz
Phone: 07 348 5889 
Club Website: specialolympicsrotorua.co.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics Rotorua

Thames Valley

Sports: Athletics, Bocce, Golf, Indoor bowls, Swimming
Contact: Anna Walters
Email: specialolympicsthamesvalley@gmail.com
Phone: 022 312 0459 
Facebook: Special Olympics Thames Valley

Taupō

Sports: Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Swimming
Contact: Char Tawhai
Email: taupo@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics Taupo

Tauranga

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Golf, Indoor bowls, Powerlifting,  Swimming, Snowsports
Contact: Susan Salamonson
Email: tauranga@specialolympics.org.nz

Te Awamutu

Sports: Snowsports, Swimming
Contact: Catherine Clark
Email: teawamutu@specialolympics.org.nz
Phone: 027 844 2287 
Facebook: Special Olympics Te Awamutu

Waikato

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Football (soccer), Powerlifting,  Swimming 
Contact: Nicky Johnson
Email: waikato@specialolympics.org.nz
Phone: 027 749 6449
Club Website: specialolympicswaikato.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics Waikato

Lower North Island Clubs

​Regional Sports Coordinators (RSCs)

Jemma Drake
Email: jemmad@specialolympics.org.nz
Phone: 027 555 1944

Tristen Mathieson
Email: tristenm@specialolympics.org.nz
Phone: 027 447 7074

Gisborne

This club is coming soon. If you’re based in Gisborne, let us know if you’re interested and what sports you’d like to do!
Contact: Jemma Drake
Email: jemmad@specialolympics.org.nz

Hawke’s Bay

Sports: Bocce, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Golf, Indoor bowls, Snowsports, Swimming, Basketball 
Contact: Margaret Baker
Email: Margaret.mary.Baker@gmail.com
Facebook Special Olympics Hawke’s Bay  

Horowhenua

Sports: Basketball, Swimming, Indoor Bowls, Bocce, Snowsports
Contact: Cheryl Burden
Email: Horowhenua@specialolympics.org.nz
Phone: 027 311 3700 
Facebook: Special Olympics Horowhenua

Hutt Valley

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Snowsports, Swimming 
Contact: Dave Burrowes
Email: Admin@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics Hutt Valley

Kāpiti

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Golf, Snowsports, Swimming 
Contact: Anne Cheetham
Email: kapiti@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics Kapiti

Mana

Sports: Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Swimming 
Contact: Helen Brookes
Email: mana@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics Mana

Manawatū

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bocce, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Football (soccer), Golf,  Powerlifting, Snowsports, Swimming, Table Tennis 
Contact: Helen Johnson
Email: helen.johnsonsport@xtra.co.nz
Phone: 027 258 8558
Facebook: Special Olympics Manawatu

North Taranaki

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Golf, Snowsports, Swimming
Contact: Ian Mischefski
Email: northtaranaki@specialolympics.org.nz
Phone: 027 447 4303
Facebook: Special Olympics North Taranaki

Wairarapa

Sports: Athletics, Swimming 
Contact: Marilyn Morrison
Email: wairarapa@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics Wairarapa

Wellington

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bocce, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Football (soccer), Snowsports, Swimming 
Contact: Ravi Kandula
Email: wellington@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook:  Special Olympics Wellington

Whanganui

Sports: Swimming, Equestrian, Basketball, Bocce, Indoor Bowls
Contact: Jan Bublitz
Email: jrbublitz@hotmail.co.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics Whanganui

South Island Clubs

Upper South Island Clubs

Regional Sports Coordinator (RSC)

Graeme Bain
Email: graemeb@specialolympics.org.nz
Phone: 027 447 9030

Tristen Mathieson
Email: tristenm@specialolympics.org.nz
Phone: 027 447 7074

Nelson

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bocce, Bowling (tenpin), Football (soccer), Golf, Indoor bowls, Powerlifting, Swimming
Contact: Wendy Littlejohn
Email: nelson@specialolympics.org.nz

Motueka

Sports: Swimming, Equestrian, Bocce, Bowling (tenpin), Indoor bowls
Contact: Katrina Anderson
Email: motueka@specialolympics.org.nz

Marlborough

Sports: Athletics, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Golf, Swimming
Contact: Cindy Adams-Vining
Email: marlborough@specialolympics.org.nz

North Canterbury

Sports: Athletics, Bocce, Equestrian, Golf, Indoor bowls, Powerlifting, Snowsports, Swimming
Contact: Gail McClintock
Email: northcanterbury@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics North Canterbury

Mid Canterbury

Sports: Bocce, Swimming
Contact: Colleen Lindsay
Email: midcanturbury@specialolympics.org.nz

Canterbury

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bowling (tenpin), Equestrian, Football (soccer), Golf, Indoor bowls, Powerlifting, Swimming
Contact: Helen Mitchell
Email: canterbury@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics Canterbury

West Coast

Sports: Basketball, Golf, Swimming
Contact: Jenny Green
Email: westcoast@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics West Coast

Lower South Island Clubs

Regional Sports Coordinator (RSC)

David Hibberd
Email: rscdirector@specialolympics.org.nz
Phone: 027 299 4734

South Canterbury

Sports: Athletics, Football, Swimming
Contact: John Keenan
Email: southcanterbury@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics South Canterbury

North Otago

Sports: Bocce, Bowling, Snowsports, Swimming
Contact: Sue Ruddock
Email: northotago@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics North Otago

Otago

Sports: Basketball, Bowling, Football, Golf, Indoor bowls, Powerlifting, Snowsports, Swimming
Contact: Jo Torrance
Email: otago@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics Otago

South Otago

Sports: Basketball, Bocce, Football, Indoor Bowls
Contact: Joan Ollerenshaw
Email: southotago@specialolympics.org.nz

Eastern Southland

Sports: Swimming, Bowling
Contact: Susan Shanks 
Email: easternsouthland@specialolympics.org.nz

Southland

Sports: Athletics, Basketball, Bocce, Bowling, Indoor bowls, Powerlifting, Snowsports, Swimming
Contact: Paddy Jones
Email: southland@specialolympics.org.nz
Facebook: Special Olympics Southland